Governors come from a variety of backgrounds. Where we are able, we look for people with specific skills or experience to join us, so that we maintain a balance of skills within the overall team. Currently we have governors with backgrounds in IT, Farming, and of course teachers from our own school.

FGB Minutes

The Governing Board


Geoff Arthur – Chair


 Chair of Governors from May 2015. I am also ‘Outcomes for Pupils’ deputy governor and Sports governor
vacant – Vice Chair


Andy Higgs – Headteacher


This is Andy’s third headship. He has taught and led in schools in Wokingham, Reading, Hampshire and West Berkshire.


Julian Gadsby – Foundation (ex-officio)


As well as a governor at the school, I am Priest-in-Charge of the Parishes of Bucklebury, Bradfield and Stanford Dingley (, and was previously a curate in Essex. I am married to Cheryl and we have two daughters at the school. I am Ethos, Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare lead governor


Helen Robertson – Co-opted


 – I am Leadership and Management lead governor and quality of teaching lead governor. I also chair the staffing committee.
vacancy – Co-opted


Peter Waters – Foundation


I am a Foundation Governor and attend All Saints church in Bucklebury. I was born into a farming family in Bucklebury and brought up in the local area.

I have lived in Upper Bucklebury for the past ten years after living and working in different parts of the UK and overseas. My main occupation is farming, with experience in agricultural management, development and training. I am a part time educational officer for the John Simonds Trust.

I am Resources: Site, Buildings, IT, Health & Safety lead governor. I am a member of the staffing committee.


Jenny Thom – Staff


I am originally form Bristol, and lived in Hertfordshire and Buckinghamshire, before settling in West Berkshire 13 years ago. I have always wanted to be a teacher and completed my degree in psychology through the Open University and qualified through the Graduate Teacher Programme at Reading University in 2007. My first teaching position was maternity cover at Bucklebury for 2 terms and from there I worked at Mortimer St. John’s Infant school for 3 years, returning to Bucklebury as soon as a permanent position became available. I have an adult son and daughter and in my spare time I enjoy reading and the outdoors as well as singing in a local choir. I am Outcomes for Pupils lead governor


Lawrence Littlechild – Parent


 I am lead Finance governor and a member of the staffing committee.
Anna Tayton – Parent


 I am deputy governor for ‘Quality of Teaching’, and ‘Ethos, Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare’. I am also a member of the staffing committee.

Certain Governors take on special roles to focus on important topics. The following roles are extremely important for Governing Bodies
Health & Safety Governor – Geoff Arthur
PPG Governor – Jenny Thom
Special Educational Needs (SEN) Governor – Geoff Arthur
Safeguarding Governor – Helen Robertson
Special Responsibility for Sports – Geoff Arthur

For information on the Governing Board, please email the clerk:-